Board of the Society of Friends of the Austrian National Library

President: Director-General Hartwig Löger
1st Vice President: Director-General Dr Johanna Rachinger
2nd Vice President: Mag. Bettina Glatz-Kremsner
Secretary: Mag. Alice Trenkwalder
Cashier: Andrea Neubauer
Vice Cashier: Michaela Hübner

Other Board Members

Dipl.-Ing. Wolfgang Anzengruber
Deputy chairman Mag. Thomas Arnoldner
Chairman Stefan Borgas
KR Martina Dobringer
Chairman DI Stefan Dörfler
Deputy chairman of the supervisory board Mag. Egbert Fleischer
Deputy chairman of the supervisory board Dr. Günter Geyer
Dr. Heimo Hackel
Ing. Wolfgang Hesoun
Senatorin KR Brigitte Jank
Generaldirektor Mag. Robert Lasshofer
Director-General Dr. Ralph Müller
Gouverneur a.D. Univ.-Prof. Dr Ewald Nowotny
Board Director Dr Günther Ofner
Chairman MMag. Peter Oswald
Dr Christian Rainer
Director-General Dr. Susanne Riess-Hahn
Dr Gerhard Roiss
President Dipl.-Ing. Walter Ruck
Director-General Dr Heinrich Schaller
Mag. Dr Karl Sevelda
KR Prof. Elisabeth Stadler
Dr Wilfried Stadler
President Dr Karl Stoss
Director-General Ing. Karl-Heinz Strauss
Chairman Dr Johann Strobl
Court counsellor Dr. Gottfried Toman
Board Director Dr Thomas Uher
Director-General Dr Kurt Weinberger
Country Manager Robert Zadrazil


Dr. Felix Hammerschmidt
DDr. Karl Pistotnik

Board statutes


Society of Friends of the Austrian National Library
Tel.: +43 1 534 10-201, -202

Reading rooms at Heldenplatz and the departments

Due to maintenance work, the reading rooms at Heldenplatz and all departments will be closed from Thursday, July 25 to Monday, August 5, 2024.

Due to the shutdown of the ordering system, no media orders can be accepted from Wednesday, July 24, 2024, 4 pm to Friday, August 2, 2024, 4 pm. The first book collection will take place again on Monday, August 5, 2024.

State Hall

Due to an event, the State Hall will be closed on August 28, 2024.