Cookie information
This website uses cookies. If you continue using this website, we shall assume that you agree with the use of cookies. Legal notice

Our Memberships

There are different ways of becoming part of the Society of the Friends of the Austrian National Library.


As a friend (annual contribution of EUR 50.00), you enjoy a range of benefits in an exceptional setting:

  • Free admittance to the State Hall, the Papyrus Museum, the Esperanto Museum and the Literature Museum as well as to all special exhibitions
  • Invitations to exhibition openings and other events
  • Participation in the exclusive programme for friends
  • 15% friends’ discount on all catalogues
  • Annual subscription to the ANL magazine
  • Discounted admission to all partner museums
  • An invitation to the annual reception of the director-general
As a supporter (EUR 300.00 per year**), you also receive:
  • A transferable friends’ card for all six museums
  • Invitations to exklusive VIP events
  • One exhibition catalogue per year
  • Your name on the website

** € 220.00 of which are tax deductible

Amounts exceeding the membership contribution and the value of the associated return service are tax deductible.

Gift memberships

You can also give gift memberships. You can treat bibliophiles with an attractive voucher as an exceptional gift for birthdays, anniversaries and other celebrations.

Membership for students

Become a member for only EUR 25.00 per year! The Young Friends of the Austrian National Library (students until the age of 27)

  • enjoy free admittance to the museums of the Austrian National Library
  • meet at exhibition openings, guided tours by curators and behind-the-scenes events
  • benefit from reduced admission fees to the partner institutions Belvedere, Filmarchiv Austria, Jüdisches Museum Wien, KHM, Kunstmeile Krems, MUMOK, Sigmund Freud Museum, Theater an der Wien, Theater in der Josefstadt, as well as the events of the Friends of the Vienna State Opera, Vienna Konzerthaus and the MuTh (concert hall of the Vienna Boys’ Choir)
  • support the cultural treasure trove of Austria with their annual contributions

We thank our supporters

DI Wolfgang Anzengruber
MMag. Johannes Baillou
Erika Bartsch
Dkfm. Paul Berger
Dr. Maria Bilik
Univ.Prof. Dr. Erika Bleibtreu
Stefan Borgas
Univ.Prof. Dr. John W. Boyer
Nikolaus Brandstätter
Thomas Brezina
Dr. Hava-Eva Bugajer 
Willibald Cernko
Bess Cerny
Dr. Helmut Danzl

Mag. Brigitte Ederer
Gertraud Engelhorn-Vecciatto
Prof. Agnes Essl
Mag. Egbert Fleischer
Elfriede Frank
Dr. Otto F.B. Fuhrmann
Dieter Gamper
Dr. Günter Geyer

Mag. Bettina Glatz-Kremsner
Prof. Dr. Edda Gössinger
Regina Gschladt
Senta Gutkas
Ingeborg Hammerl
Claudia Hanf-Effenberger
Robert Häring
Dr. Klaudia Havranek
Mag. Dietrich Heim
Mag. Julia Held
Margareta Herndlhofer
Ing. Wolfgang Hesoun
DI Dr. Diether S. Hoppe
Dkfm. Fritz Himmer
Mag. Edgar Huemer

Bertram Hüttner
Mag. Michael Ikrath
KR Brigitte Jank 
Dr. Anita Knirsch
Helga Kohl
Mag. Gertrude Kothanek
Edith Krones
Mag. Dr. Wolfgang Lanz
Brigitte Leitgeb
Hildegard Liebermann
Mag. Ingrid Löscher-Weninger
Dr. Edelgard Loibl
Mag. Katharina Luger
Mag. Dr. Eva Maar
Adelaide Martinshausen
Mag. Werner Muhm
Fritz Neugebauer
Antonia Neumayr
Maria Nickl
Univ.Prof. Mag. Dr. Meta Niederkorn
Univ. Prof. Dr. Ewald Nowotny
Setsuko Oguma-Schedlbauer
Mag. Manfred Ornauer 
MMag. Peter Oswald
Maria Ott
Mag. Peter Pail
DI Konrad Pernstich
Mag. Alexandra Petschar

DI Dr. Georg Pölzl
Dr. Gernot Räuschl
HR Dr. Sigrid Reinitzer
Ing. Andreas Reiter
Dr. Susanne Riess
Dr. Gerhard Roiss
Dkfm. Andreas Sauer
Dr. Karolina Sauer-Sidor
Dr. Konrad Schaefer
Prof. Dkfm. Thomas Schäfer-Elmayer
Dr. Reinhard Schelch
Christine Scherleithner
Mag. Elfriede Scherz
Dr. Peter Schleicher
Dr. Karl Schleinzer

Konsul KR Dr. Rudolf Schneider
Dr. Gunda Schönhuber
Mag. Christa-Maria Schuster
Marion Schweighofer
HR Dkfm. Mag. Helene Sebök
Maria Monika Seits
Dkfm. Heidegunde Senger-Weiss
Mag. Dr. Karl Sevelda
DI Herbert Spatschek
KR Prof. Elisabeth Stadler
Dr. Wilfried Stadler
Ingrid Staffa
Mag. Johanna Stefan
Ing. Karl-Heinz Strauss
Hans Paul Strobl
Dr. Johann Strobl

Dr. Johannes Strohmayer
Franz Strutzenberger
Georg Suchanek
Josip Susnjara
Dr. Richard Teichmann
Dr. Klaus Theiner
Paul Ferdinand Thurn und Taxis
Dipl.Biol. Dieter Torheiden
Albert Trendl
Alexandra Trestler-Willenig
Mag. Elisabeth Tuisl
Renate Überbacher
Dr. Thomas Uher
Dkfm. Dr. Erich Vlcek
Dkfm. Gerhard Wasshuber
Dr. Brigitta Wehrl-Novotny
Dr. Konstantin Weicht 
Fritz Werner
OSR Gerlinde Witzmann
Dr. Alexander Wrabetz
Elfriede Zechmeister
Mag. Manfred Zeidler
Univ.Prof. Dr. Klaus Zelzer
Mag. Paul Ziehengraser-Windisch

JavaScript deaktiviert oder Chat nicht verfügbar.

Capacity library area at Heldenplatz

Due to the minimum distance required by the authorities, currently not all seats are available in the reading rooms. The capacity indicator serves as an orientation for your visit


420 seats are still available.

Capacity Live Chat